The Forrest Research Foundation

About the Foundation

Our Origin Story

The Forrest Research Foundation attracts outstanding minds to Western Australia to undertake high quality research with the potential to change the world.

The Foundation was established in 2014 following one of the largest ever philanthropic donations in Australian history by Andrew and Nicola Forrest through the Minderoo Foundation.

The original $65 million donation has been used to drive research and innovation capacity in Western Australia by awarding Forrest Scholarships and Fellowships to outstanding young intellects from around the world to conduct research at one of Western Australia’s five universities – Curtin University, Edith Cowan University, Murdoch University, the University of Notre Dame (Fremantle) and the University of Western Australia.

The Forrest Research Foundation is a seed that we hope activates new investment in Australia’s research community. Through our strategic initiatives, we work to bring our research to government, business and the community.

“Education enhances innovation and provides the keys to the long term combatting of poverty. In so doing, we won’t just help the impoverished, but raise the universal standard of living.”



Prof Robert French AC
Chancellor, UWA
Professor Robert French was appointed Chief Justice of the High Court of Australia on 1 September 2008 and retired from that office on 29 January...
Dr Nicola Forrest AO
Founder, Minderoo Foundation
Dr Nicola Forrest has been instrumental in building and diversifying the Minderoo Foundation, particularly through education and the arts. In 2014...
Dr Andrew Forrest AO
Founder, Minderoo Foundation
Industry and philanthropic leader Andrew Forrest grew up on a remote Australian cattle station, Minderoo, before graduating from university and...
Prof Amit Chakma
Vice-Chancellor, UWA
Professor Amit Chakma is the Vice-Chancellor of The University of Western Australia. He served as President and Vice-Chancellor of the University of...
Prof Harlene Hayne CNZM
Vice-Chancellor, Curtin University
PhD (Rutgers) HonDSc (Colorado College) HonLLD (Otago) FRSNZ Professor Hayne has been the Vice-Chancellor of Curtin University since April 2021,...
Prof Andrew J. Deeks
Vice-Chancellor, Murdoch University
Professor Andrew Deeks is an Australian academic leader and the current Vice Chancellor and President of Murdoch University. His academic career...
Prof Francis Campbell
Vice-Chancellor, The University of Notre Dame Australia
Professor Francis Campbell is the Vice Chancellor of The University of Notre Dame Australia and also holds the position of Professor of International...
Prof Robyn Owens
Independent Governor
Robyn Owens (AM, FAA, FTSE) is an Emeritus Professor in the Australian university sector and the former Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research) of The...
Michelle Tremain
Independent Governor
Michelle is the CEO of a private family group focused on Western Australian assets, the arts and philanthropy. She previously served as the Managing...
John Hartman
Chief Executive Officer, Tattarang and the Minderoo Foundation
John Hartman is the Chief Executive Officer of Tattarang and the Minderoo Foundation. He was previously Chief Investment Officer of Tattarang and...
Tony Grist
Alternate Director for Dr Andrew Forrest
Tony Grist has extensive experience in the capital markets. He has been involved in the management of publicly listed companies across a range of...
Prof Caroline Finch AO
Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research), Edith Cowan University
Professor Caroline Finch is the Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research) at Edith Cowan University. She is a board or committee member for a number of...
Fiona David
CEO and Founder of Fair Futures. Adviser and Alternate to Nicola Forrest
Fiona David is the Chair of Research for Minderoo Foundation. A lawyer and anthropologist by training, Fiona has worked internationally for more than...

Annual reports

Forrest Hall

Located on the bank of the Swan River, Forrest Hall offers 48 premium apartments suited to the needs of academics intent on achieving excellence in their field.

Forrest Hall is a state-of-the-art accommodation facility designed with the purpose of attracting and inspiring top scholars in their academic pursuits while creating a space that enhances their on-campus learning experience.

Forrest Hall is a stimulating and creative living environment for Forrest PhD Scholars and Postdoctoral Fellows attending Western Australian universities. Designed by the internationally renowned architect Kerry Hill, Forrest Hall has been built in a beautiful location overlooking the Swan River.

The standard of accommodation and its views of the clear skies and sparkling waters of the Swan River, with our clear air and a beautiful environment, all enhance the attraction of these excellent facilities that accommodate our researchers.

The idea of Forrest Hall is to accommodate scholars who can generate the energy and drive to achieve outstanding results simply through sparking off each other and discussing problems which otherwise seem unsolvable.



Prof James Arvanitakis
Director of the Forrest Research Foundation, PhD
James is the new Director of the Forrest Research Foundation. He moved to Perth, Western Australia to take up the position and was formerly the Pro...
Jenny Pak
Executive Assistant, Forrest Research Foundation
Jenny Pak joined the Forrest Research Foundation in August 2023 as the Executive Assistant to the Director. She has nearly two decades of experience...
Louise Renwick
Program and Partnerships Coordinator, Forrest Research Foundation
Louise Renwick joined the Forrest Research Foundation in March 2024 as the Program and Partnerships Coordinator. Louise has extensive experience in...