News Feed

Inaugural recipients of Forrest Creative and Performance Leadership Fellowships announced

17 December 2021

The Forrest Research Foundation is proud to announce that Ms Elham Eshraghian-Haakansson and Dr Jo Pollitt have been named inaugural recipients of the Foundation’s Creative and Performance Leadership Fellowships.

A Fine Arts graduate from The University of Western Australia, Ms Eshraghian-Haakansson has exhibited her work nationally and internationally. For her fellowship Ms Eshraghian-Haakansson will explore new ground in digital media, particularly in the area of virtual reality, looking at the techniques and methods needed to help audiences to become co-authors of her work, rather than just passive bystanders. She will be working in collaboration with creative arts therapist Cara Phillips, Dr Ionat Zurr (UWA School of Design), Immerse Australia and Dr Jason Eshraghian, with the support of Spaced, as part of the Know Thy Neighbour #3 Program.

Dr Pollitt is a senior research fellow in the School of Education and a lecturer in dance improvisation at the Western Australian Academy of Performing Arts at Edith Cowan University. Through her fellowship, she will bring together artists, scientists and educators to enable more nuanced and deeply felt relations with the natural world in response to environmental crises.